Connect with us


LPGA Founders and Pioneers Honored at World Golf Hall of Fame | LPGA | Ladies Professional Golf Association



On Monday, June 10, 2024, just three days before the start of the of 124th U.S. Open, the hall officially moved home to Pinehurst, adjacent to the new USGA Testing Center and just 200 yards from the first tee at the No.2 course.

So that evening it seemed fitting that in a ceremony at the Carolina Hotel, the remaining 13 LPGA Founders were included posthumously into the World Golf Hall of Fame.

Terry Duffy, Chairman and CEO of CME Group which was the presenting sponsor of the event, said of the Founders, “Through this honor they will forever be recognized as visionaries who, in 1950, saw an opportunity and established the LPGA Tour.”

Michelle Wie West, who won the U.S. Women’s Open in 2014 at Pinehurst, presented the Founders during the induction ceremony and said, “Today’s sportswomen are standing on the shoulders of the 13 original LPGA Founders. This summer, for the first time in history, women’s sports will see 100% gender equality at the Paris Olympics. My hope is that daughters, sisters, and mothers all over the world will say a big thank you to the 13 LPGA Founders. And remember, we’ve come a long way, baby.”

Monday night, Patty, Babe, Louise, Betty, Marilynn and Marlene, were reunited together again with the rest of their comrades – Marlene’s older sister Alice Bauer, Bettye Danoff, Helen Dettweiler, Helen Hicks, Opal Hill, Sally Sessions and Shirley Spork – as they are now fittingly all reside together in the World Golf Hall of Fame, one of golf’s greatest honors.

Continue Reading